Faust, Fossen, Chamberlin Named SWC Players of the Year

North’s Kaison Faust was named the boys SWC Player of the Year, while Megan Fossen and South’s Ula Chamberlin were named the girls SWC Co-Players of the Year.

Posted: Feb 27, 2018 4:55 PM

MEDFORD, Ore.—The basketball dominance of the two Medford schools in the Southwest Conference reared itself again on Tuesday, as two North Medford seniors and one South Medford junior took home Conference Player of the Year honors.

North’s Kaison Faust was named the boys SWC Player of the Year, while Megan Fossen and South’s Ula Chamberlin were named the girls SWC Co-Players of the Year.

After a first-team selection a year ago, Faust wasn’t shy in expressing hope of taking home Player of the Year in his senior season. His visions came true and the Black Tornado standout led the conference in scoring.

Chamberlin also took home the SWC scoring title on the girls’ side and was honored along with Fossen.

Chamberlin was the only upper-classmen on a Panthers team that rosters seven freshman, and her efforts propelled the Panthers to an upset of the Black Tornado in the season finale and a 10 seed in the playoffs.

Fossen meanwhile ranked second in scoring in the conference and helped the Black Tornado to their first conference title since 2008. The North Medford girls earned the five seed in the 6A playoffs and open with Liberty.

Along with Faust, Chamberlin and Fossen, many other local players received recognition at the conference level. The complete breakdown is below, as decided by SWC coaches:


SWC Player of the Year
Kaison Faust SR – North Medford
SWC First Team
Jay Elmore SR – South Eugene
Collin Warmouth JR – Roseburg
Patrick Herbert JR – Sheldon
Owen Cross JR – Willamette
Taylor Anderson JR – Grants Pass
SWC Second Team
Oscar Banuelos SR – North Medford
Tayler Phillips SR – Grants Pass
Will Graves SR – South Eugene
Dylan Reichenberger SR – Willamette
Tyler Rund SR – Grants Pass
Honorable Mention
Jesse Higgins SR – South Medford
Devante Bailey SR – Sheldon
Quinton Rumrey SR – North Medford
Sherman Hunter SO – South Medford
Cody Johnson SR – Roseburg
Dominic McGarvey JR – Sheldon
Luke Burke JR – Willamette
Aidan Clark SO – South Eugene
Seth Skeele SR – Willamette
Elias Spence JR – North Medford
Sam Harris SO – South Eugene
SWC Coach of the Year
Scott Plankenhorn – North Medford


SWC Co-Players of the Year
Megan Fossen SR – North Medford
Ula Chamberlin JR – South Medford
SWC First Team
Kami Walk JR – Sheldon
Bella Pedrojetti SO – South Medford
Rylee Karrick SR – North Medford
Ahdra Klingler JR – Grants Pass
Aly Mirable SO - Sheldon
SWC Second Team
Macie Reinen SR – Sheldon
Jane Ersepke SO – North Medford
Fallon Hanson JR – Sheldon
Jalen Robles SR – Roseburg
Grace Gaither JR – Grants Pass
Honorable Mention
Natalie Willoughby SO – Willamette
Toni Coleman FR – South Medford
Shakia Perry FR – South Medford
Ayla Klingler JR – Grants Pass
Adriane McLemore SR – North Medford
Amber Winkler SR – Sheldon
Talia Baker JR – North Medford
Hannah Stein SO – South Eugene
Alyssa Etheridge SR – Grants Pass
Kaili Chamberlin FR – South Medford
Makenzie Crawford SO - Willamette
SWC Co-Coaches of the Year
Brian Brancato – Sheldon
Tim Karrick – North Medford

Article Comments

57° wxIcon
Hi: 90° Lo: 57°
Feels Like: 57°
50° wxIcon
Hi: 74° Lo: 55°
Feels Like: 50°
Crater Lake
50° wxIcon
Hi: 83° Lo: 51°
Feels Like: 50°
Grants Pass
57° wxIcon
Hi: 89° Lo: 58°
Feels Like: 57°
Klamath Falls
50° wxIcon
Hi: 86° Lo: 50°
Feels Like: 50°
Warm Father's Day
KDRV Radar
KDRV Fire Danger
KDRV Weather Cam

Community Events