PORTLAND, Ore. — Oregon may soon be stepping up their punishments for licensed marijuana merchants who sell to minors, according to a statement from the Oregon Liquor Control Commission (OLCC), which also regulates marijuana sales.
Under the new proposal, a marijuana shop that unintentionally sells to a minor could suffer a 30-day license suspension or a fine of $4,950 for the first offense.
Intentionally selling marijuana to a minor would be considered a Category I violation—meaning that the license to sell marijuana would be completely revoked. The OLCC calls this "one of the most egregious violations a licensee can commit."
Licenses could be revoked or suspended for several other reasons as well—for instance, if the worker has been convicted of a felony or lies to the OLCC.
A meeting to discuss the penalty increase will take place on Tuesday, May 15 at the OLCC's offices in Portland, and will allow for public comment. The public can continue to submit comments to the agency until 5:00 p.m. on May 28.
A #420day reminder: Don't partake in recreational marijuana if you're underage. You must be at least 21 to buy, use, or possess. For more info, visit https://t.co/JeFrfzCumm or https://t.co/Ydxyh4H0Ca. pic.twitter.com/idn5msbJ5Q
— OLCC (@OLCC) April 20, 2018
- Oregon Regulators Suggest Higher Penalties for Marijuana Sales to Minors
- Penalties Tripled For Underage Marijuana Sales
- Josephine County Sues State of Oregon Over Marijuana Regulations
- New Bill Aims To Regulate Marijuana Like Alcohol
- OLCC Finds Some Marijuana Retailers Selling To Minors
- Ashland Recycling Regulations
- Oregon bill would effectively ban death penalty in state
- Southern Oregon's Unemployment Rates are Higher than Country's Average
- Bill by Oregon Congressman Would Regulate Weed Like Alcohol
- Oregon Initiative Aimed at Tightly Regulating Firearms Returns