MEDFORD, Ore-- Any store or restaurant that sells beer or wine will have to pay an extra $400 this fall. Brewery and winery licenses are jumping from $250 to $500. That's because a recent law change doubled the current fee.
"It's a tough pill to swallow." said Jake Miller the owner of Short Stop Market and Liquor. "I think doubling it is rough."
The OLCC has rarely changed the fee since 1949. Miller says it's understandable that the fees have to increase, but the timing is not great. "This is coming on the heels of, I did payroll yesterday, the minimum wage just went up .50 cents an hour." said Miller. He says the minimum wage increase will cost him 10s of thousands of dollars. Now he has to add this money on top of it. "Oh we need relief here just for a little while." said Miller.
He thinks he will be ok, but he's worried about the smaller convenience stores. "That extra $400 will make a difference to some of the smaller stores which is a bummer." said Miller.
The fee increase will put Oregon in line with the national average. It's estimated that the increase in fees will bring in almost 10 million dollars. Which will go to OLCC operations and compliance activities. These fees go into effect on October 1.
- OLCC doubles liquor license fee this fall
- New OLCC Rules for Cannabis
- OLCC Adds New Rule for Harvesting Cannabis
- Oregon Wildlife Officials Consider Cutting License Fee Hikes
- OLCC Finds Some Marijuana Retailers Selling To Minors
- Howiee's On Front owners will lose liquor license after state ruling
- United Airlines Increases Baggage Fee
- New Liquor Stores Pour Into Southern Oregon
- New rule: OLCC allows CBD tinctures to have more than 10 mg of THC
- Police arrest suspect in Klamath Falls double shooting investigation