ACROSS OREGON-- The Oregon Liquor Control Commission says some marijuana licensees are selling to minors.
This comes after an operation conducted during the holidays using a minor decoy to try and buy product.
Retailers across the state failed to stop sales to minors.
Southern Oregon dispensaries have a 67% compliance rate according to the OLCC.
On December 29, 2017, marijuana inspectors visited 12 licensed marijuana retailers in Southern Oregon.
4 failed a check for prohibiting sales to a minor volunteer.
The OLCC says the dispensaries that did NOT sell to minors include: House of Leaves Ashland, House of Leaves Medford, Talent Health Club, Top Shelf Wellness, La Mota, Wicked Flower Shop, Sensible Cannabis, and Breeze Botanicals.
The dispensaries that DID sell to a minor include: Hijinx Cannabis Company, Cannabiz Experience, Rogue River Herbal, and Rogue River Cannabis.
During the sales checks, a minor volunteer attempts to enter a licensed marijuana retailer and/or purchase marijuana products from a licensed business to see if staff are checking ID’s correctly and refusing entry to anyone under 21.
Commission inspectors supervise the minor volunteers.
The volunteers carry their own legal ID that identifies them as under 21 and do not disguise their age or lie to encourage the sale of marijuana.
The OLCC says these operations are to make sure marijuana licensees are complying with state laws and OLCC regulations to keep minors from entering licensed retail businesses to purchase marijuana products.
Sale of marijuana products to anyone under the age of 21 is a violation that for a first offense could result in a 10 to 30 day license suspension, or a fine of $1650, depending on whether or not the sale is intentional.
Failure by a marijuana licensee, or its employee, to check a customer’s identification before the attempted purchase of a marijuana product is a violation that could result in a seven day license suspension or a fine more than $1100.
The OLCC tests licensed marijuana businesses throughout the year, with each licensed retailer receiving a minimum of one visit per year.
The OLCC offers a free training course on how to check ID’s and identify false identification.
- OLCC Finds Some Marijuana Retailers Selling To Minors
- New OLCC Rules for Cannabis
- OLCC Adds New Rule for Harvesting Cannabis
- OLCC doubles liquor license fee this fall
- Oregon Regulators Suggest Higher Penalties for Marijuana Sales to Minors
- Fireworks retail sale season starts
- New rule: OLCC allows CBD tinctures to have more than 10 mg of THC
- Deputy finds 24 pounds of marijuana during traffic stop
- Siskiyou County drug raid finds 610 large illegal marijuana plants