SALEM, Ore. — A bill passed during the Oregon legislature's third special session extends a moratorium on evictions, but it also requires action from renters in order to gain continued protections.
House Bill 4401 extends the statewide pause on evictions for non-payment until June 30 of 2021. However, renters must fill out and sign a sworn declaration of financial hardship and give it to their landlords for those protections to apply.
Renters who don't fill out the signed declaration will need to pay back rent by March 31. If the form is completed, renters will have until July 1 to pay back what they owe — without being charged any late fees or having debt reported to credit agencies.
However, the new bill does include some exceptions for landlords, even if the form is completed.
"The new statewide moratorium also allows landlords to give termination notices after the first year of occupancy if the landlord plans to demolish the rental, convert it to a different use, or make repairs that would require the renter to move out," the Oregon Law Center says. "Landlords are also allowed to give termination notices if the landlord has sold the rental to someone who plans to move into it, or if the landlord or a member of the landlord’s family plans to move into the rental."
Landlords must give at least 90 days' notice before evicting a renter for those reasons. Landlords can still terminate a rental agreement if the renter otherwise violates the agreement or does something illegal on the property.
Moreover, HB 4401 includes funding for landlords from Oregon Housing and Community Services in order to help pay back up to 80 percent of owed rental income. The legislature set aside $150 million for this program, which is still in development.
The sworn declaration form for renters is supposed to be available soon on the Oregon Judicial Department site, but a version of the form can also be found at the end of the Oregon Law Center's document, along with more details on the moratorium.