MEDFORD, Ore. — A number of new laws are going into effect in Oregon on Wednesday, including two new tobacco laws.
First, cigarette tax will go up 13 more cents, bringing the total tax on a pack of cigarettes to $1.31.
In addition, Senate Bill 244 said smokers will no longer be allowed to light up with minors in the car. According to the American Lung Association, in Oregon you could be fined up to $250 for first offense and up to $500 for second or subsequent offenses for smoking in a vehicle when youth are present. One youth said he is glad to see this new law taking effect.
“I really don’t like my parents smoking in the car because it could affect their lungs… kids… it could affect their lungs, and I really don’t like it especially when my Mom or Nanna or anybody smokes,” said one local youth.
Police officers said they are still undergoing training on how to enforce this new law, but they say they will be ready come January 1.
Oregon is now among several other states to enact this law, Arkansas, Maine, California, and Louisiana also prohibit the practice.